Jesus Changed Their Life

The Day God Saved My Daughter

*NOTE: This testimony is originally in her book but she was kind to give me it. Her book is titled “No Time to Cry”. This is not my testimony. Please give credit to Mindy if you’d like to share this with others.*

Sharing testimonies is my passion! Jesus Christ saves us from all who walk with Him! I hope these testimonies encourages you to go deep with God and believe, He is very much real. I love the supernatural! The way that God steps in and makes our minds wonder “How did He just do that?” He is Almighty God! Kings of kings and Lord of all lords. He’s the Omega, the Alpha, beginning and end. He knows what to do in circumstances we cannot control. -Miranda Hanchar

Excerpt from her book: NO TIME TO CRY, Chapter 14
November 9, 2015
Permission granted to Miranda Hanchar for her Blog Site:
https://mirandasmissionwithapurpose.wordpress.com

the day God saved my daughterI don’t know of anyone, (other than myself), who’s experienced the awesome power of God saving their child. Not once. Twice. The odds of that happening once are pretty great. The odds of it happening twice are probably non-existent.

One of the worst things a parent can experience is the death of a child. Although, hearing about your child’s near-death experience can be just as gut wrenching.

It was 12:30 p.m. on New Year’s Day, 2005. I was putting away my Christmas things, taking my tree down, etc. like I do every year. When my cell phone rang, I saw that it was my daughter, Jessica. At the time, she lived in a small town in Idaho. The night before, she had mentioned that she’d be taking a road trip to a nearby town with a friend for a few days. I told her to be careful, stay warm, and to call me when she got to her destination. She never made it.

Jessica’s voice on the other end of the phone was weak, but frantic, and I could tell she’d been crying. “What’s wrong?” I asked. She replied, “Mom, I was just in a bad car accident. I’m in the hospital.” I could feel my mind flying a thousand miles an hour. “What happened? Are you okay?” I asked, while trying to keep my voice calm. I could hear a bustle of noise in the background. She said that she was covered from head to toe with broken glass, and even swallowed some. Her clothes were all bloody. I felt my insides get sick.

Then she started crying really hard when explaining to me that “Chewy” her beloved Chihuahua was missing, and nobody could find him. I asked her to put a nurse on the phone so I could get a better understanding of her injuries and condition. I’m sure the nurse gave me a run-down, but all I remember her telling me is, “your daughter is lucky to be alive.” When Jessica got back on the phone, I put myself into ‘Mom-mode’ to try to soothe and comfort her. She said there were pictures of the accident she was going to send me. I told her to let the doctors and nurses treat her, then call me in a couple hours and let me know how she’s doing. External injuries included cuts and scratches all over her body, especially her back, as well as a knee injury from the impact. Long term injuries have included damage done to a disc in her spine, as well as ongoing internal organ problems. These sounded mammoth to me at the time, that is, until I saw pictures of the actual accident.

Not long after, Jessie emailed me the photos from the accident. I made the mistake of opening them up while I was at work. I felt my heart stop. Then I ran to the bathroom to vomit. Jessica had been in the front passenger seat just prior to her accident. Her friend, Samantha, was driving. Chewy, (Jessica’s dog) was in the back seat, standing on top of his kennel, eating his food.

Apparently, a band of fog descended, leaving almost zero percent visibility. They slowed down to less than 30 mph. What they didn’t know then was that there was black ice on the road. After reaching the top of a mountain, Samantha proceeded to descend slow and with caution. Some of the fog had begun to dissipate, and that’s when they saw the jack-knifed semi truck at the bottom of the hill. Its trailer was strewn across all lanes. There was no escaping it. There was no excess road with which to pull over on because they were driving down a mountain. Had they jumped out, they would have fallen off a cliff. All they could do was ‘duck’ and brace for impact.

The pictures were absolutely horrifying. The entire top portion of the car they were in was totally gone. The car had slid down the mountain road on black ice, and made direct impact into the semi-truck’s trailer, passing underneath it and coming out the other side. A passerby stopped to help, and it took 2 men to use the Jaws of Life to get Jessica’s passenger door open so they could pry her out. Seconds before impact, she’d crouched down onto the floor of the passenger side. Samantha was in shock, and continued sitting upright. When Jessica saw that she hadn’t ducked, she pulled her friend’s head down as well. Had they not ducked, they both would have been decapitated and died immediately.

My daughter later informed me that after they were both taken to the hospital. Police arrived at the accident scene, and seeing the results of the damaged car, assumed that all occupants were dead. Thus, going as far as writing D.O.A. on their police reports. She said it’s a miracle that they didn’t call me to tell me she died, because she’d left her purse with my contact information and all of her personal belongings in the car when she was taken to the hospital.

Jessica was in shock for a few hours, but concern for her own well being eluded her when nobody could find her beloved Chewy. She actually braved going back to the accident scene the very next day to search for him. It was January, and it snowed heavily the night before, and was snowing almost daily. She thought for sure he froze to death, or maybe even got snatched by someone. Given the impact of the accident, his body would have been flown several feet from the car, if not crushed in the metal.

In any case, I thanked God for miraculously saving my child’s life. I also knew that in order for her to heal from this tragedy, Chewy would have had to survive and somehow come back to her. I began putting my daughter’s name on every prayer list I could find via the internet, emails, phone calls, etc. I also included Chewy. He wasn’t even a year old. He was her baby.

For an entire week, Jessica and Sam’s accident was headline news in Coeur d’Alene, Idaho. The restaurant where they both worked started a “Chewy” fund. Regular customers would come in and give a donation, and people volunteered to help search for her tiny K-9 friend every day. News reporters were constantly trying to get video footage of the two “miracle girls” who survived such a horrible accident, when so many other similar ones happened every day on that same road, yet the majority of them perish.

I wrote to one news reporter of a Coeur d’Alene newspaper, and asked him if he’d please write about Chewy, with the hopes that someone may have seen him, and to call me direct since Jessica was being bombarded by the press.

The weather had been merciless all week after the accident. It would take a miracle for Chewy to survive blizzard-like freezing conditions for days without food, water, or shelter. At the time of the crash, he barely weighed five pounds, and was not wearing a doggie sweater.

Then someone called out of the blue. Jessica has often referred to this caller as “The Good Samaritan” because he refused to give his name. He told her that he spotted a small Chihuahua in the area that the accident took place, and that a tiny Chihuahua had been running around with a pack of local dogs. That’s all she needed to hear. She got a ride back to the same spot, parked at the bottom of the hill, and with a few friends, began calling out Chewy’s name.

Just as she was about to give up, she saw him. He’d poked his little head out from under a house on the side of the road. As soon as he knew it was her, he ran like wildfire into her arms.

Jessica was on the phone with me the entire time, including the moment she found him, and I’ll never forget it. She was crying. I was crying. Her friends were crying. It was one happy day!

I immediately thanked God for answering my prayer. Chewy was fine. He had no broken bones, no injuries from the crash. A vet in her town offered her a free visit to look him over to make sure all his parts worked. Indeed they all did. Chewy had lost some weight, but he’d been eating snow, so he remained hydrated. However, for him to survive outside for 7 days, facing the elements, and freezing temperatures, he had one thing going for him: Most of the dogs he was running around with were all females. Chewy had been on a mating binge for 7 days, thus, keeping his body temperature up, and keeping him warm, otherwise, he probably would have frozen to death.

The first miracle here is that my daughter, her friend, and Chewy not only survived a deadly car crash, they survived it without any broken bones, head trauma, or other life-threatening ailments.

The second miracle is that the semi-truck’s trailer sat high enough (and her car sat low enough) so that it could actually go “under” it. Had she been riding in a truck, or higher vehicle, or that semi been any lower to the ground, the car would have impacted like an accordion, and most likely exploded, killing everyone.

The third miracle is that just minutes before the fog rolled in, Jessie took Chewy out of his kennel so he could eat. Had he remained inside the kennel during the crash, he would have been killed. The kennel was crushed on impact.

The fourth miracle is that God cared enough about my daughter to ensure the survival of one little 5 pound Chihuahua named “Chewy” so he could make his way back into her arms again after surviving the winter elements outside for 7 long days and nights.

The 5th miracle is that I never received a fateful phone call from the police officer informing me my daughter was ‘dead’.

For me, this is the miracle of all miracles because this is the second time God chose to spare a child of mine from the brink of death via a horrific car accident. My daughter’s name, “Jessica Blair” means: “Grace of God.” She is truly God’s heavenly grace. She is a constant joy, and I can’t imagine my life without her. She’s 32 years old now and still remains one of my heart’s greatest treasures. I have to assume that God has His Angels working overtime for me at times. He never lets me forget He’s always in control.


Author Bio:
Mindy L. Wallace has been writing in a professional capacity for over twenty-five years. Her literary background includes owning and operating a successful desktop publishing business that began in 1990 with a client base that included the Gilda Radner & Don Shula Foundations. She became a published author at a national level in January 1995 with Endtime Magazine after writing an article about her son’s near fatal car accident titled: “Justin’s Story.” In 2001, she rewrote the story and titled it: “A Mother’s Regret.” It received Best Inspirational Award from Writer’s Digest that year beating out 19,000 other applicants. Mindy went on to work for two national magazines, as well as write a newspaper column for The Homeless Voice based in South Florida.

Ms. Wallace’s literary achievements include writing and editing for: Disney, Buena Vista Home Entertainment, Blu-ray, and ABC Studios. The author currently resides in Deerfield Beach, Florida.

unnamed

Her book in which her testimonies are from:
“No Time To Cry” is the true story of a single mother’s battle to survive in the wake left from the tragedy of 9/11/01. Her journey pulls you in from the moment 9/11 hit, thru a decade of vast employment battles, crooked employers, bounced paychecks and evictions only to culminate with a life threatening illness. This is also a testimony of her absolute faith in the One True God.

Ms. Wallace lost everything in the wake of 9/11. This is her story.

About Miranda Hanchar

Just a young adult that wants to share the Gospel (about Jesus Christ) through writing. I love spending time with my family, being crafty, web-browsing, reading, and loving the outdoors.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Has this post helped you...comment below

